cancer

I wrote an article about cancer with the intention of having it published in one of the broadsheets

 

For 2 reasons really. To help publicise our film for the charity Cancer Black Care & because I thought it would help me personally to have something in the broadsheets.

 

I phoned up the Guardian, Tuesday of last week, the 10th, which was a strange experience because the number for the reception took an age to find & then turned out to be defunct anyway. I went from one person to another in quick success. Then I was told to send it to the culture section which didn’t seem quite right. But anyway, I thought it would be better than nothing. I left all the details they could want. Phone numbers & e-mail addresses etc. But they didn’t get back to me at all. I-emailed again on Friday & eventually received this reply

 

Dear Andrew
Thank you very much for sending us your article. Laura has taken a look,
but I’m afraid she is not planning to use the piece on the arts pages.
I hope you will be able to place your work with another publication –
thanks once again for thinking of the Guardian.
With best wishes,
Eiluned Jones
Arts Desk Administrator

 

So I e-mailed someone on the health & lifestyle section but received no reply at all not even an acknowledgement.

 

I phoned up the Times & (eventually) was given the name of a person, Rosemary Bennett to send it to. I e-mailed her twice but received no reply at all, not even an acknowledgement

 

Oh well.

 

It is difficult to say how good or bad it is but I suspect that in fact it is of a lot more interest & better written than much of the stuff than most of the stuff they publish.

 

This is it. I hope, dear reader, that you like it.

 

 

Scares about cancer are manifold. Cancer is all about us. All of us are affected by it both in terms of knowing those who have it & recover from it or die from it & by the dire warning that we ourselves may contract it. There are new scares every day. I heard on the radio recently that (in America) 3 people have died after receiving organ transplants from someone suffering from cancer but in fact misdiagnosed as meningitis. Cancer has a life of its own. It is everywhere.  Apparently one in three (or even one in two) people will at some point be affected by cancer at some point in their lives.

 

My father, a doctor, died of prostate cancer & a brain tumour, aged 81 & my mother, a nurse, died at the age  87, of breast cancer & finally of stomach cancer. Not bad. People live longer but less. In fact there is not a lot of history of cancer in either of my parents’ families although it is true that my father’s father, my grandfather, died of cancer when he was really quite young. I am not actually sure what kind of cancer it was but cancer is cancer.

 

Of course people are recovering from cancer all over the place. But it comes back. In a sense it never goes away. We all get cancer every day but our immune system is able to deal with it. I know not from my experience but vicariously through the lives & traumas of others, especially my mother, friends & relatives what a shattering & frightening thing it is to be told that you have cancer.

 

My mother was diagnosed with breast cancer in early 1997. It seemed to us, my father my sister & myself like a death sentence. But in some sense she did recover.  She was on the drug Tamoxifen which reputedly didn’t have any side effects. Towards the end of her life in fact, she told me that this certainly wasn’t the case. Though I can’t say what these side effects were.  Of course she may have been ascribing things to drug as side effects which should in all honesty be ascribed to something else. But I think people do know about this sort of thing one way or another.

 

Both my parents were medical people. My father a doctor & my mother a nurse. Whichever way you look at it they did live to a good age. My father was 81 when he died & my mother 87. Not bad. People live longer but most less.

 

A lot can be done. By right diet & lifestyle generally (if it is possible) we can do much to avoid cancer.

 

Personally, I believe in right diet as a prerequisite good health, cancer in particular. Myself, I eat mainly raw vegetables. I am 63 now & lead the life of someone considerably younger. I, inter alia, ride a bicycle through the streets of London & work as a volunteer with the Brixton Prison chaplaincy.

 

For some reason that has not been fully or finally established cancer, especially amongst the Afro Caribbean community. For whatever reason cancer is a worse blight for black people. A recent report stated that breast cancer tends to affect black women in Britain at an earlier age than white women that is at an average of 46, as opposed to an average is 67.

 

What we talk about in the film, Food 4 Thought, we have made for the charity Cancer Black Care is the importance of health & diet in preventing & overcoming cancer by right diet & by not smoking or taking drugs. The mantra for the film is eat more fruit & veg. The film follows the story of Raul Price, who diagnosed with prostate cancer, completely changed his lifestyle. He eats sensibly, that is he now eats much fruit & vegetables & seems to have recovered.

 

The film follows the story of Raul Price, who diagnosed with prostate cancer, completely changed his lifestyle. He referred to himself as going through a cancer journey. Has he completely recovered or not? Can this diet or that completely banish cancer or does it all go away. He now eats much fruit & vegetables & seems to have recovered.

 

What we want is our DVD encourage is quite simply to encourage healthy living. Right diet, no drugs, no smoking. To show the courage & spirituality of the sufferers we have interviewed. We have interviewed a nutritionist, carers, as well as the sufferers themselves.

 

 

The launch for the film Food for Thought an InFactuation Productions DVD is on Thursday 19th of March at The Board Room, Wembley Centre for Health & Care, 116 Chaplin Road, Wembley HA0 4UZ. Contact Natalie@cancerblackcare.org / 020 89614151

 

Andrew Wallis of InFactuation Productions is the producer of the Cancer Black Care, DVD, Food 4 Thought.

 

This entry was posted in Health and wellness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

