Alzheimer’s Show

I visited my aunt last Saturday. She is 97. She has Alzheimer’s & she has recently had a stroke. But she does seem happy. When I asked her how she was, she said yes, ok, she was well but she made a point of showing me her hands & shaking them. I said, I know. We all get a bit shaky sometimes. The lady next to her was convinced that I was her son, even though I told several times that this was not so. She was telling me off for not coming to see her more often.

It was hard to make out what she was talking about because somehow she had lost the ability to speak clearly. But it did seem to me that there was much going on in her brain; much that was not recognised. She seemed like somebody who had had a stroke, rather than someone who had Alzheimer’s. I am not saying this definitively. Obviously I don’t really know. As far as I remember this was the first time I had met her. Her name didn’t ring a bell.

Alzheimer’s is a tragic disease. It takes away that which is distinctively human. This lady was complaining that to me that they wouldn’t let her out of the building – which of course if she has Alzheimer’s, they wouldn’t.

The Alzheimer’s Show is tomorrow & Saturday (April 19th  & 20th  2013)

This is the link

http://alzheimersshow.co.uk/

It is at the Royal Horticultural Halls, in Victoria, London SW1O 2TX. The roads around there are a bit labyrinthine, the actual address is Elverton Street. The best way to get there is to go down Victoria Street & turn right at the Army & Navy Store & then walk down Horseferry Road.  It should be an enlightening event. It seems that even quite young people are sufferers from Alzheimer’s. People speculate about causes, cures & prevention. There are several theories but in the end Alzheimer’s seems to be like most other diseases, inasmuch as smoking, drinking alcohol, lack of exercise do not help. Eating plenty of green vegetables & fruit, exercising (but not to excess) do help.  But genetic factors are important but not overriding.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

